top of page

Musica Antiqua

March 26, 2024

Musica Antiqua

Musica Antiqua brings together three dynamic musical selections that modernize and reimagine the past. American composer Jessie Montgomery weaves 'American folk idioms and the spirit of dance and movement' into her guitar-like piece, Strum. In the comic ballet Pulcinella, Igor Stravinsky uses tunes from Italian Baroque composer Giovanni Battista Pergolesi and transforms them into a Neoclassical style. And, Camille Saint-Saëns concludes his grand Symphony No. 3 with an old compositional technique, a polyphonic fugue. The entire program is an instrumental crescendo beginning with just strings, growing to a medium chamber orchestra, and finally expanding to a full ensemble complete with pipe organ.


Jessie Montgomery • Strum

Igor Stravinsky • Pulcinella Suite

Saint-Saëns • Symphony No. 3 "Organ"

bottom of page